Visiting relatives from Seattle 🇺🇸

To challenge myself I will write this blogg in english in case our newly found relatives from Seattle read this. As I wrote in a previous blogg one  of the siblings (as I know of, they were 14 siblings so maybe she wasn´t the only one) to my greatgrandmother and greatgrandfather crossed the Atlantic over a hundred years ago. I didn´t know this story until very recently, about 3 months ago. Then one of my sisters wrote an email to us that she had been contacted by a geneologist from Västervik. Now we have the whole story. We have ancesters in Seattle and they knew that they had relatives in Västervik, because a lady named Violet was in Sweden and visited, among others my uncle who died last march, in the 50th. She was the grandmother and greatgrandmother of theese two women who now contacted the library in Västervik and asked if they could find any relatives to them. The library gave the task to a geneologist who in a couple of days found my sisters familytree on the internet and sent it to them... and then he contacted my sister who does geneology as well and told her that we had relatives who wanted contact. Big surprise! And yet more: they had alreday booked their journey to Sweden.
 
They came this monday and my sister went for them at Arlanda. And this thursday, the day before midsummer, my sister and I had made some plans according to their wishes, but also an attempt to make it possible for as many of our relatives in Stockholm to see them.
 
At 9 o´clock me, my aunt and cousin met them outside the room they rented. We picked up my sister and her youngest son on the way to Götgatan 85 where the two sisters we derives from lived together for a while. We went to Helgagatan and Blekingegatan where my grandmother and grandfather lived, and where my grandfathers brother and mother Ida lived... My grandfathers mother Ida and her sister Wilhelmina (Minnie, the sister who crossed tha Atlantic) kept in contact for the rest of their lifes.
 
To this adress and the right door the letters from Amerikat was delivered
 
My aunt could tell a lot about theese generations and we all learned a lot! After the walk on Söder my cousin had to leave for work but the rest of us took the subway to Slussen and Djurgårdsfärjan to Skansen. We walked a little bit in Djurgårdsstaden, wich I never heard of. If you go to Skansen, pay Djurgårdsstaden a visit! Old genuin houses from th 18th century (1700-tal).
 
 
At Skansen we skipped the animals and went for the old houses an old environment to sense how life in Stockholm and Sweden could have been a hundred years ago. My aunt was an excellent guide an we were all taught a lot.
 
 
For lunch we had waffles. We thought that eating waffles at Skansen was a very swedish thing to do. And it was very good too, and a good thing to let our legs rest for a little bit and get some sweet energy into our bodies.

 
Next stop was Vasamuséet. Another cousin with her son and my eldest daughters with all their children met up there. Now it was impossible to walk in a group, but it was very nice anyway. I was so proud to present so many from my own family.
 
 
After Vasa a smaller group went for Abba-muséet, but all the children went home and so did I because I had to pick up my dogs at daycare. After a walk and feeding them I went back again. Now my sisters other two boys, my mother, brother and other sister joined the group for dinner. We had so much fun! My aunt showed old photos and red letters from aunt Minnie that she had in her possession. We showed pictures on our phones of familymembers that couldn´t join us this day, we ate good food, exchanged adresses and emails and we laughed a lot.
 
 
But at last, everything must come to an end, so did this day. My sister, her boys and me walked with our newfound relatives so far as they could find their room, took a last picture and said goodby. My brother promised to pic them up the next day to give them a ride to the bus to Västervik wich is their next stop on their journey. I will follow their adventures at Facebook!
 
 
This day was som much fun in so many levels of life. Lets hope it dosn´t take another generation until next time we meet!

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0